- 0 Comments
All You Need to Know About New Jersey Cannabis Laws
There are around 130,000 medical marijuana users in New Jersey. It is estimated that the number will go up slowly since the recent legalization of recreational cannabis in the state. However, people are still getting used to the rules, and cannabis laws and regulations are often changing. So, if you are a newbie to the world of cannabis or want to make sure that you are updated on the laws for consuming cannabis in New Jersey, this is the perfect blog for you!
We will look at the laws in brief detail, understand what you shouldn’t do, and how to avoid legal trouble. If you are a medical marijuana patient, we will also talk about how to reduce your marijuana bills. So, without any further ado, let’s dive into the article.
New Jersey Cannabis Laws and Regulations
Listed below are the rules and regulations New Jersey citizens must abide by.
What’s The Best Minimum Legal Age For Cannabis?
All users must be 21 years or older to purchase and use cannabis. This applies to residents or visitors in New Jersey. You will have to provide proof in the form of a government-issued ID to confirm your age. However, those who are above the age of 18 can legally purchase and consume marijuana with an MMJ card.
Getting a 420 evaluation as someone who is below 18 is easy and convenient and lets you stay within the New Jersey Cannabis laws and regulations. MD Ganja is the perfect place to get an affordable New Jersey MMJ card quickly and at affordable prices. There are also other advantages of the card such as it helps you save tax on your medical marijuana bills, so people of all ages benefit from it.
Where to Buy Cannabis Legally?
This is one of the most crucial things to keep in mind when you are about to purchase marijuana. Users are not allowed to buy cannabis at an unregulated outlet or source. This means that you need to purchase cannabis from a government medical marijuana dispensary. As mentioned above, you need to pay tax on your purchase. If you are found buying unregulated marijuana, you will have to face legal penalties.
How Much Cannabis Can You Buy In NJ?
You are allowed to purchase up to an ounce of cannabis or its products in one transaction. However, if you purchase any amount from an illegal dealer, you may have to face the following:
Up to one ounce – For a first offense, a person will receive a written warning for a non-licensed or otherwise unlawful transaction involving an ounce or less. Any subsequent violation is classified as a fourth-degree crime, with potential penalties including a $25,000 fine, up to 18 months in prison, or both.
More than one ounce but under five pounds – This is a third-degree felony, with potential penalties including a $25,000 fine, three to five years in prison, or both.
At least five pounds, but no more than 25 – This is a second-degree felony, with potential penalties including a $150,000 fine, five to 10 years in prison, or both.
More than 25 pounds – This is a first-degree felony, with potential penalties including a fine of up to $300,000, ten to twenty years in prison, or both.
Where Can You Smoke Marijuana?
The decriminalization of cannabis does not mean that you are now allowed to smoke it in public, rather, there are some strict rules to follow regarding where you can smoke. You have to make sure that you smoke on private property. If you own the place, you’re good to go, but if you are renting, the landlord should be okay with it.
Remember, that you must not smoke in public in any case. It is speculated that New Jersey will be opening “cannabis consumption areas” where people can go to smoke it. These areas will most likely be set up right next to places that sell legal marijuana.
Now that we have covered the basics of legal cannabis consumption, let’s look at some commonly asked questions.
Can New Jersey Citizens Grow Their Own Cannabis?
No, It is illegal to grow your own marijuana at home in New Jersey, regardless of your medical requirements. There are no legal provisions that allow you to grow your own cannabis, whether you are a medical cannabis patient or a recreational user.
Depending on the amount of marijuana and the number of plants, growing your own can result in harsh penalties.
In New Jersey, possessing even a single marijuana plant is considered a third-degree crime, punishable by three to five years in prison. If you have 10 plants or more than five pounds, you can be charged with a first-degree felony and face a prison sentence of 10 to 20 years.
Is it Okay to Smoke at an Office Now That Marijuana is Legal?
There is no direct answer to this question, it depends on the situation. However, New Jersey’s marijuana laws allow companies to drug test current and prospective employees. If the test is positive, or if you bring or use marijuana on the job, or if you arrive at work impaired, you may have to face consequences.
In many cases; however, there may be no “adverse employment consequence,” such as being fired. Some professions may have rules that prohibit you from using marijuana even when you are not working, such as if you work for the federal government or in a job that must follow certain federal regulations.
Is Getting an MMJ Card in New Jersey Worth It?
If you are wondering whether to get an MMJ card as a New Jersey resident, we recommend you to go for it! It has multiple benefits, such as:
- Saving money on tax
- Lower age restrictions
- Ability to possess more marijuana
- Access to exclusive deals
- Access to highly potent products
You can learn about these benefits in more detail here.
Besides the mentioned points, you also get to benefit from a professional’s advice on medical marijuana. This is particularly helpful to patients who are unsure about the dosage, drug interactions, and whether they should opt for a particular cannabis product to help with their ailments.